Kindness, Smiles and Shoes – Loly in the sky

Loly in the Sky Giusy shoes worn by Megan Radford

It’s been a painful week. None of us could have avoided that photo, and I admit it’s been difficult to think of anything else. In my new role with a relief and development organization, I’ve had an outlet to push for change (here are some suggestions if you would also like to help). But still, I’ve been left reeling, unable to imagine a world where we could allow this to happen.

And then, on Friday evening, my doorbell rang. It was the mailman, bringing a smile. Bringing shoes.

It might seem frivolous to be writing about shoes at a moment like this. But these weren’t just any shoes- they were by a brand called Loly in the sky, a company run by a young female entrepreneur and designer from Mexico. They are handmade in her home country, creating jobs for skilled shoemakers, and inspiring girls around the world.

When I took the package and signed my name, I think I smiled my first real smile that day. As I opened the boxes, rainbow confetti scattered around me onto the floor. There were two shoe bags, a note just for me (in Spanish!) and my two pairs of Lolys. They weren’t perfect, but they were hand-crafted and beautiful.* A dream from Lorena Vazquez’s sketchbook, just for me.

Loly in the sky boxes and shoes, with confetti all around!

A week like this helps us understand the ways we are responsible to one another. For me it goes right back to the choices we make with our money, and our time. Our world is in serious need of kindness. By supporting artisans, small businesses, and companies that treat their workers with respect, we give it that, at least a little.

I’m choosing to hope that we are moving towards a time when kindness, supporting one another, and hope aren’t so far away. It’s the reason for my first blog here in a year, and it’s what I’m working towards. Will you join me?

gracefully yours,

Megan

PS- If you would like to read more about my thoughts on the ethics of name-brand footwear (like Keds, Converse and Vans), head on over to my personal blog. You can also follow me on Instagram @megancradford for a weekly dose of flowers, inspiration and ethical living.

*For you animal lovers, Loly in the sky are also vegan-friendly and work to be environmentally responsible.

Loly in the Sky Amelie worn with a red dress

Watch how my Lolys were made!

Leave a Reply

